In the late 1950s, the old south end fell into decline. Many residents left Columbus’ German Village lured by newer housing. The construction of Interstate 70 through downtown Columbus spurred a restoration movement beginning with the purchase, in 1959, and the renovation of a Dutch Double by Frank Fetch.
One of the nation’s early and most successful urban revitalization campaigns, this charming and vital neighborhood was once home to working-class German immigrants. Now its brick streets, beautiful gardens, and delightful architecture are hallmarks of one of the country’s most prestigious urban addresses.
One house with two distinctive styles. The Brothers house at 316-318 E. Beck Street in German Village was originally bought by two brothers, Andrew and Thurman Debois, to build a home for both their families. During the construction of the home both brothers got into some sort of dispute and became very angry at each […]
Schmidt’s Sausage House, 240 E. Kossuth Street opened circa 1967. Postcard taken before 1977 when publisher closed. Source: Columbus: Firestone Photographs Inc postcard 091253